Book Promotion: Fae Queen by Lynn Landes

Today’s book promotion comes from Lynn Landes and her book called Fae Queen. If you like Fantasy novels, take a look below. You might just find another book for your “to read” pile!

Book: Fae Queen
Author: Lynn Landes
Genre:
Fantasy/Fairytale

Publisher: Self published
Format: ebook
Release Date:
2/11/2014

Summary:
“Caderyn is on a mission. To design a fairy tale garden for a little girl and put her company, Secret Gardens on the map! She does not have time for romance, and she does not believe in fairy tales.

But, fate has a mind of its own…

An ancient race is in need of a savior, and it has chosen Caderyn. In the blink of an eye, she is thrown into the world of the Fae. It is a race against time to save the Fae King, and release him from five hundred years of imprisonment. Beautiful dreams turn to nightmares, as she becomes hunted by the Shadows who enslaved the King.

An evil alliance are determined to destroy the Fae, and enslave humanity. The destiny of all is in the hands of a woman who has to let go of reality and trust in her heart.

Caderyn learns that fairy tales do come true, just not always the way you expect.”

The Author:

Lynn Landes’ Blog: Here

Q & A:

What is the best thing about writing this book?
I had the best time writing about Caderyn and her best friend. I loved learning about the Fae and meeting an Angel.

Where did you get your idea for this story?
I had the idea for a few months, when I saw the cover I had to have it and the story flowed quickly after that.

What would you tell aspiring writers out there?
Have fun! Writing should be an adventure. I learn so much when I am researching and I think that excitement comes through in the writing.

What is your favorite book?
Little Women

Coffee, Tea, or Hot Chocolate?
Coffee!

 

I want to thank Lynn Landes for allowing me to promote her book on my blog. I hope this post has inspired you to go out and read Fae Queen!

Review for Asleep by Elizabeth Darcy

asleep

My Rating: 4/5

Author:  Elizabeth Darcy
Title: Asleep (Fairytale Collection #2)

Genre:  New Adult/Fairytale/Fantasy Romance

Background:

Amazon Description:
A new adult fantasy romance reboot of the sleeping beauty tale.

**Because this book involves mature characters, it contains some adult content.**

When her beloved Prince Devaran is abducted from her parents’ castle during their engagement announcement ceremony, Princess Jessmyn vows that nothing will stop her from bringing his abductors to justice. Rescuing Dev won’t be easy, and Jess will have to form an alliance with the other Realms if she’s to win the most important battle of her life.

Imprisoned in a forbidding tower, Dev tries to find a way to warn Jess of the perils she’ll face. Weakened by deprivation and by the drugs administered by the madwoman who kidnapped him, Dev drifts between sleep and consciousness. As he relives cherished moments spent with Jess, Dev wonders if he’ll ever again be with the woman he loves.

Opinions:

My Short Summary: Asleep is a retelling of the fairytale Sleeping Beauty. If you are looking for dragons, fairies, and evil witches, you are in the wrong place. First of all, “Sleeping Beauty” is a prince, and it’s not magic that is keeping him asleep but a sleeping potion. In fact, there is no magic involved in this story, but a medieval-style fantasy novel. Two realms are about to be joined through a marriage – something that is not usually done. Things do not go according to plan. You cannot have a wedding without a groom. After Prince Dev is cunningly kidnapped, Princess Jess must find out whole is responsible and bring him back. There are no damsel in distress in this novel. Rather, women are as much warriors as the men. As Jess discovers who is behind the kidnapping of her betrothed, she realizes that this deed involves the entire five realms.

Narration: Third person through Jess and Dev.

Character Development: The story has flashbacks to how Jess and Dev finally fall in love with each. Their characters are the most developed. The reader learns about their weaknesses and insecurities while understanding how and why they fell in love with each other. I would have liked to have seen a little more background development with the kidnapper.

Plot Development/Flow: The flashbacks in the novel work well with the drug induced sleep that Dev is put through. I believe this strengthens the plot overall. I feel the beginning is slightly slow. With Jess looking for Dev (and Dev in and out of consciousness), it seems to drag on a little bit. Once a plan is determined, things move along better. As stated before, this is different version of Sleeping Beauty that most people know.

Standalone or Part of a Series: This is a standalone book in a part of a fairytale collection. If you enjoy retelling of fairy tales, then you might want to try this book.

What’s Your Fairytale?

Like many children (and even adults), I love fairytales. The magical worlds, pretty dresses (yes, I am one of those girls), adventure, and love could keep me entertained for hours. What are my top 3 fairytale stories? [I like the happily ever after versions the best.]

  1. The Little Mermaid – Okay, growing up this was my favorite Disney movie, and I think the first one I saw in the theater. When I was little, you couldn’t get me out of the water. Granted, it might have been hard getting me in the bathtub, but once I was there, I was not getting out. Who wouldn’t like a story about a mermaid, an evil sea witch, talking sea life, and a handsome prince? The Little Mermaid was written in 1836 by Hans Christian Anderson
    (Picture source )
    mermaid
  2. Beauty and the Beast – First of all, the main character loves books. This is a guarantee win I with me. Second, the prince is furry and has an under bite – reminds me of my childhood dog. Moving furniture in the castle is also an easy task – especially if you are into redecorating. Finally, reciprocated love is always a good thing in fairytales. With all the reading I do, I think this most likely resembles me now – although I have cats not a beast. Beauty and the Beast was written in 1740 by Gabrielle-Suzanne Barbot de Villeneuve.
    (Picture source)
    beauty-and-the-beast
  3. Sleeping Beauty – Now here I thought I liked to sleep! A hidden princess, magical fairies, dragon-slaying prince, and roses (one of my favorite flowers) are a part of this story. This encourages my mantra to shop – I don’t want to prick my finger on a spindle! I also find that I shouldn’t feel guilty about sleeping so long. Sleeping Beauty was written in 1697 by Charles Perrault.
    (Picture source)

    sleeping beauty

It was hard to narrow down my favorites. How about you? What are your favorite classic fairytales?

Review for Coralina by Anita Valle

 

 Coralina

 

My Rating: 4/5

Author:  Anita Valle
Title:  Coralina: The Nine Princesses Novellas (Volume 2)

Genre:  Fairytale

Background:

Amazon Description:
Coralina Corissa, known as “Coco” to her eight sisters, is the prettiest princess of a hundred kingdoms. And she knows it. Her beauty has always given her anything she wanted… and any man she wanted.

Runa Realm is facing a new threat. Strange bandits, disguised as nobles, are attacking beautiful women to steal their hair. Coralina isn’t concerned. Until Prince Luxley, her favorite (but not only) lover, gets clobbered by a peasant called Gord, who mistakenly assumed the prince was a bandit.

Outraged, Coralina plans to punish the peasant by deliberately breaking his heart. But Gord is nearly blind. For the first time ever, Coralina must rely on more than her looks to ensnare a man. But the harder she flirts, the more Gord seems to hate her. And the more her own heart (and hair) becomes endangered.

The Nine Princesses Novellas is a series that chronicles the adventures of an unconventional family of princesses, the struggles they face in a kingdom often hostile to their humble origins, and the day-to-day dramas of nine young women whose personalities often clash like swords. Fans of Gale Carson Levine and Shannon Hale would enjoy this young-adult series. Recommended for ages 12 and up.

Opinions:

Coralina is the second volume of The Nine Princesses Novellas. Nine girls were adopted by a king and queen—each from a different kingdom. [And, each one gets their own novella.] When the king and queen died, the princesses each took on a role to help run the castle and kingdom. This book is about Coralina the “festivities princess.” Coralina is very beautiful and knows it. She doesn’t hesitate to use her looks and charms to win people over, especially men who fall easily for her. However, she meets her match when she tries to pay back Gord for embarrassing her. However, Gord is going blind and cannot see Coralina like everyone else can.  This does not stop her from trying and including Gord in her newest play. However, trouble is also afoot when bandits are abducting women to cut off their hair. Does Coralina fall into the bandits hands? Does she get Gord back? Does she learn a lesson in vanity? Does she learn a lesson in love? Well, that’s where you have to read the story.

Growing up, I loved princess stories and of course wearing pretty dresses. I was a girlie girl, so even though I’m slightly older than the target audience (12+) – I guess the ‘+’ includes me – I still like to read fairytales and princess books. Although the character of Coralina is somewhat predictable, I was surprised at what happened. As with any fairytale, there is a moral of the story. If I was rating the book as a younger version of myself, I would have probably given it 5 stars.

I wouldn’t mind reading more of the princess novellas. This was a pleasant read, and I think a nice book for young girls. If you love princess stories and new fairytales, you might want to give this book a try.