Book Promotion: Cedar Woman (The Cedar Woman Saga) by Debra Shiveley Welch

Today’s book promotion comes from Debra Shiveley Welch and her book called Cedar Woman (The Cedar Woman Saga). If you like Fiction, take a look below. You might just find another book for your “to read” pile!

 cwfrontamazon

Book:  Cedar Woman (The Cedar Woman Saga)
Author: Debra Shiveley Welch
Genre:
Fiction

 

Publisher: Debra Shiveley Welch
Format:
ebook
Release Date:
5/20/2014

 

Summary:
Winner of the Best Native American Fiction Award 2011, Cedar Woman is a powerful book filled with courage, romance and the beliefs, ceremonies and language of the Lakota Sioux.

 

The Author:
Debra Shiveley Welch’s Website: Here
Debra Shiveley Welch’s Twitter: Here
Debra Shiveley Welch’s Facebook: Here

 

Q & A:
What was the best thing about writing this book?
I thoroughly enjoyed the research into a culture that I was not acquainted with or had much knowledge of.  With the help of my sister, Julie Spotted Eagle Horse, I was able to write an authentic romance with the main characters being of Lakota decent.  I also learned some of the Lakota language, beliefs, ceremonies and philosophies.  It has been a truly remarkable journey. 

Where did you get your idea for the story?
Up until Cedar Woman, I had not written a romance.  I wanted to explore that genre and thought, Why not?  This could be very interesting and fun, not to mention educational, to write. 

Every chapter has within it something that comes from me, so many of the ideas also sprung from my experiences: powwow, the Hunkapi, Sweat Lodge, Naming and Pipe ceremonies; the regalia, music and cadence of speech.  The more I got into the book, the more I drew from my life history.

What would you tell aspiring authors out there?
If you love it, and must do it, write; write everyday.  Hone your craft and edit, edit, and then, edit.

What is your favorite book?
The Source by James A. Michener

Coffee, tea, or hot chocolate?
Tea

Anything else you would like to add?
Cedar Woman is a project I have wanted to work on for several years.  Written with the help of my adopted sister, Julie Spotted Eagle Horse Martineau, it is a book which I have thoroughly enjoyed writing.

I asked my sister to act as a consultant.  I did so because I didn’t want to write about the sacred things which are not supposed to be written about and I wanted to write about those which I could with utmost authenticity.  I also wanted to make sure that I represented the Lakota people with the deepest respect and honor.

Within Cedar Woman you will find many words of the Lakota Sioux.  Pronunciation and meaning is included the first time each word is used.  There are three dialects in the Lakota language and no standardized spelling.   I have chosen the spelling and pronunciation of these words in keeping with the dialect of my sister, Julie Spotted Eagle Horse Martineau, who is of the Lakota Plains Native Americans.

Powwow is described in detail, as well as the various forms of regalia, etiquette, music, and as with any ethnic festival – the food!

My son and I have attended the Muddy River Powwow for many years, and in doing so, have come to know and love our adopted family;  they have brought us much joy.  This book was written to honor them.

I hope you enjoy Cedar Woman.

Toksa Ake Wakan Tanka Nici Un – Walk With God  

 

I want to thank Debra Shiveley Welch for allowing me to promote her book on my blog. I hope this post has inspired you to go out and read Cedar Woman (The Cedar Woman Saga)!

Leave a Reply

