Book Promotion: White Pine: My Year as a Lumberjack and a River Rat by Caroline Akervik

Today’s book promotion comes from Caroline Akervik and her book called White Pine: My Year as a Lumberjack and a River Rat. If you like Young Adult Historical Fiction novels, take a look below. You might just find another book for your “to read” pile!

 white plain

Book: White Pine: My Year as a Lumberjack and a River Rat
Author: Caroline Akervik
Genre:
Young Adult Historical Fiction

Publisher: Fire and Ice, an Imprint of Melange Books
Format: Paperback, ebook
Release Date:
3/24/2014

Summary:
White Pine is an historical fiction set in the nineteenth century. After Sevy Anderson’s father breaks his leg in a sawmill accident, the fourteen-year-old must take his place with the rough and tumble lumberjacks and river rats who harvest the white pine forests of Wisconsin. The men of the Northwoods live hard and on the edge, and Sevy must prove his courage and his worth in the company of legends.

Will he become the man he so longs to be?

Will the other men ever accept him?

And will he even survive his first winter in the Northwoods?

 

The Author:
Caroline Akervik’s Blog: Here
Caroline Akervik’s Facebook: Here
Caroline Akervik’s Twitter: Here

 

Q & A:

The best thing about writing this book?
The best thing about writing this book was that I learned so much about the 1880s in Wisconsin and that I can share that knowledge with my children and my students.

Where did you get your idea for this story?
This story was inspired by the Wisconsin Northwoods and the adventurous spirit of the lumberjacks.

What would you tell aspiring writers out there?
Don’t give up. Keep writing and be open to the inspiration in the world around you.

What is your favorite book?
The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

Coffee, Tea, or Hot Chocolate?
Coffee

Anything else that you would like to add?
I am also the author of a YA horse story, A Horse Named Viking.

 

I want to thank Caroline Akervik for allowing me to promote her book on my blog. I hope this post has inspired you to go out and read White Pine: My Year as a Lumberjack and a River Rat!

 

Leave a Reply

