Book Promotion: THE GREAT DARKENING by R.G. Triplett

Today’s book promotion comes from R.G. Triplett and his book called THE GREAT DARKENING. If you like Fantasy novels, take a look below. You might just find another book for your “to read” pile!

 

Book:THE GREAT DARKENING
Author: R.G. Triplett
Genre:
fantasy, allegory

Publisher: Lost Poet Press
Format: Hardback, Paperback, ebook
Release Date:
3/7/2014

Summary:
When the great burning tree of Haven begins to die, leaving the otherwise unlit world of Aiénor in a state of ever-growing darkness, a young man sets upon a quest to discover a new source of light before the unknown evils lurking in the shadows unleash their fury upon the unsuspecting world.

Fear strikes the citizens of Haven at the diminishing of their holy tree, and they determine that the only way to fend off the impending dark is to set about making their own light. There are plenty of trees in the forests of Aiénor to burn. But what happens when the timber has been consumed and the great tree has failed?

Could it be that one will emerge who will uncover the prophecies of old and seek the promised light?

The Author:

R.G. Triplett’s Website: Here
R.G. Triplett’s Twitter: Here
R.G. Triplett’s Facebook: Here

Q & A:

The best thing about writing this book?
Creating in a community. I have 2-3 trusted dreamers that help me process the plot lines and flesh out the motivations of the story. They make it better every time.

Where did you get your idea for this story?
I had just finished reading The Singer Trilogy by Calvin Miller, and I loved the idea of telling the story of God, but without being so “on the nose”.
There are bits of me and my heart in each one of the characters, parts of my story and those who have influenced me (whether good or bad). I think the character I love the most is Engelmann the Arborist. He is the sage that I never had in real life… the one that I have always prayed for. I guess since I never had an older man to want to walk with me through the minefields… I had to write my own.

What would you tell aspiring writers out there?
A HUGE part of our process was kickstarter. We were able to raise over $12,000, which completely covered all marketing, design, printing, and distribution costs of the book. Plus, now we have an army of kickstarter backers who are excited to help promote the book and be a part of the dream. It’s been a really incredible process.

What is your favorite book?
The Two Towers

Coffee, Tea, or Hot Chocolate?
coffee

Anything else that you would like to add?
Here’s a video trailer for THE GREAT DARKENING:

 

I want to thank R.G. Triplett for allowing me to promote his book on my blog. I hope this post has inspired you to go out and read THE GREAT DARKENING!

Leave a Reply

