Book Promotion: Something Furry Underfoot by Amy L Peterson

Today’s book promotion comes from Amy L Peterson and her book called Something Furry Underfoot. If you like memoirs or pets, take a look below. You might just find another book for your “to read” pile!

something furry underfoot

Book: Something Furry Underfoot
Author: Amy L Peterson
Genre:
memoir, humor, pets

Publisher: self published on Amazon and Smashwords
Format: Paperback, ebook
Release Date:
5/19/2013

Summary:
If you’ve ever wondered what it’s like in a house where pets are number one and human visitors should expect to leave with some fur (and sometimes feathers) on their clothes, Something Furry Underfoot is the book for you. Something Furry Underfoot is my humorous, touching memoir about raising a whole bunch of pets my husband wanted, including frogs, iguanas, hedgehogs, ferrets, hamsters, gerbils, mice, guinea pigs, mynah birds and tropical fish. And, well, encouraged by his efforts, I admit to bringing in the stray cat, the rescued rabbits and the domestic duckling found wandering in somebody’s front yard. My book contains 50 tips about pets, making it a bit of a pet primer, too. And best of all, some proceeds will benefit animal rescue organizations.

The Author:

Amy L Peterson’s Website: Here
Amy L Peterson’s Twitter: Here
Amy L Peterson’s Facebook: Here
Amy L Peterson’s Linkedin: Here
Amy L Peterson’s Pinterest: Here

Q & A:

The best thing about writing this book?
I love hearing from readers, especially the ones who say they were inspired to write their own memoir about their pets.

Where did you get your idea for this story?
I began just documenting the pets my husband and I raised over the course of about 19 years, but as I wrote I realized that what I learned from all those pets might just be of help to other people. For example we rescued two guinea pigs, and they were for my 13-year-old step daughter. Now, the average life span of a guinea pig is 5-8 years, but ours lived 11 and 12 years. So that means that I took care of the guinea pigs while the child for whom the pigs were purchased went off to college. That’s why one tip in my book is that whatever pet comes into the home should be one the parents like and are willing to help care for, because the most responsible person is the one that usually fills in.

What would you tell aspiring writers out there?
Write the words “No Doubt” on whatever device you write on. Because the more time you spend doubting yourself–whether what you’re writing will sell, whether it’s your best work, whether it’s even worth doing–gets in the way of getting the job done. Other advice: plan on spending a lot of time marketing.

What is your favorite book?
The civil war trilogy by Jeff and Michael Shaara

Coffee, Tea, or Hot Chocolate?
soda or beer, actually, if it’s available

I want to thank Amy L Peterson for allowing me to promote her book on my blog. I hope this post has inspired you to go out and read Something Furry Underfoot!

Leave a Reply

