Review for The Boleyn Reckoning by Laura Andersen

the boylen reckoning

 

My Rating: 4.5/5

Author:Laura Andersen

Title:The Boleyn Reckoning

Genre: Historical Fiction

Background:

Amazon Description: Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, The Boleyn Reckoning heralds the triumphant conclusion of Laura Andersen’s enthralling trilogy about the Tudor king who never was: the son of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn—Henry IX—who, along with his sisters and those he holds most dear, approaches a dangerous crossroads. The Tudor royal family has barely survived a disastrous winter. Now English ships and soldiers prepare for the threat of invasion. But William Tudor—known as Henry IX—has his own personal battles to attend to. He still burns for Minuette, his longtime friend, but she has married William’s trusted advisor, Dominic, in secret—an act of betrayal that puts both their lives in danger. Princess Elizabeth, concerned over her brother’s erratic, vengeful behavior, imperils her own life by assembling a shadow court in an effort to protect England. With war on the horizon, Elizabeth must decide where her duty lies: with her brother or her country. Her choice could forever change the course of history.

Opinions:

My thoughts:

**If you have not read the first two books – The Boleyn King and Boleyn Deceit – you will stumble upon spoilers in this review**

 

Narration: Multiple third persons

 

Character Development: With this book continuing where the last left off, the characters are hitting their breaking/turning points. William has suffered from the smallpox and the international tensions of his potential marriage to France that fails. He no longer listens to reason and has his eyes set on marrying Minuette, hoping that an alliance with Spain through Elizabeth would help against the French. Some of his irrational decisions not only affect himself but England’s future. Dominic and Minuette know their secret marriage can be discovered at any minute. With each one still loyal to William, if and when he finds out would cause devastation in their marriage and potentially their lives. Minuette is constantly trying to keep her head as William elevates her status in preparation to be queen, while Dominic is one of the few people William still trusts. They both know this could change at any moment and with William’s changing disposition, anything can happen to them. Elizabeth is struggling to keep her calm and reason with William’s behavior and the changing demeanor from Minuette. She relies further upon Walsingham and John Dee. Can she help keep England together and her friends/brother?

 

Plot Development/Flow: The story keeps a good pace just like the last book. There is more stress as the characters are hitting a climax of their relationships. Tension is high as the secret marriage between Dominic and Minuette surface. William begins to turn into his father, slowly changing from the man they once knew into a monarch who would do as he pleases. France and Spain also causes political disruptions. Will King Philip choose Elizabeth of England of Elisabeth of France as his potential bride? The book also concludes the domestic plotting including Lord Rochford and Robin Dudley. It seems no character is safe in this book.

 

Standalone or Part of a Series: Last book in The BoleynTtrilogy

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s