Book Promotion: Of Angels and Orphans by Barbara T. Cerny

Today’s book promotion comes from Barbara T. Cerny and her book called Of Angels and Orphans. If you like historical romances, take a look below. You might just find another book for your “to read” pile!

of angels and orphans

Book: Of Angels and Orphans
Author: Barbara T. Cerny
Genre:
Historical Romance, Women’s Lit

Publisher: Strategic Book Group
Format: Hardback, ebook
Release Date:
9/15/2009

Summary:
Audra Markham is a ten-year-old girl born into privilege, but only in the sense of wealth. The granddaughter of a Viscount, Audra is the object of ridicule in her spoiled and spiteful family. Alone and unloved, Audra seeks solace in the comfort of food.
In another part of London thirteen-year-old Nathaniel Abbot lives a wretched life, forced to steal food in order to survive. Living in squalid conditions at the local orphanage, Nathaniel and three of his friends are spared further suffering when Audra “rescues” them from their plight.
Two lost souls that cannot find their place in the word suddenly find a place in each other’s hearts. Follow the lives of Audra and Nate as they grow from loyal childhood companions to inseparable young lovers, struggling through the perils of their own lives and facing difficult decisions that threaten to keep them apart.

Hard copy, Smashwords, All Romance, Amazon

The Author:

Barbara T. Cerny’s Website: Here
Barbara T. Cerny’s Twitter: Here
Barbara T. Cerny’s Goodreads: Here

Q & A:

The best thing about writing this book?
Getting it out of my head! This is a story that has been rolling around in my head since high school—over thirty years now! I’d always wanted to be a writer but, as happens with many people who have a dream, life gets in the way. For many years, my writing was shoved to the side as I pursued other goals. “Someday, I will write…” You know how it goes. Well, that someday came in the most unusual way. I am a retired lieutenant colonel in the US Army Reserves, a twenty-two-year veteran in our military. And I, like hundreds of thousands before me, was called to serve. I was sent to Southwest Asia (SWA) in support of Operations Iraqi Freedom and Enduring Freedom. In SWA, I worked six days a week, twelve- to thirteen-hour days, for twelve months straight. Even on my days off, I sometimes had to work six to eight hours. I lived the movie “Groundhog Day” for 365 days. But I had time on my hands. No kids, no responsibilities outside the mission, no cleaning the bathrooms, no cooking or grocery shopping. I just had to make my bunk and take the bus to work. So I started to write. I wrote on my days off. I wrote in the evenings. I wrote when my boss traveled on business or was on leave. From the first week in February to the first weekend in June, I fleshed out the story that had only existed in my mind for so many years. Bottom line, deployment gave me the time to pursue a passion I had pushed aside for three decades, so I guess I have to say, “Thank you, Uncle Sam!” for giving me the chance to actually put the lives of Audra Markham and Nathaniel Abbot on paper.

Where did you get your idea for this story?
Good question! Somewhere in HS it started its journey and continued pinging me every now and then for years. I don’t remember the seed that started it.

What would you tell aspiring writers out there?
NEVER EVER QUIT. You write because you have to. If you write to make boat loads of money, your heart isn’t in it. Write for your heart, to fill your love bucket, and to satisfy that itch that keeps talking to you in your head. Stay true to your craft.

What is your favorite book?
The Stand, Stephen King

Coffee, Tea, or Hot Chocolate?
Hot Chocolate, of course!

Anything else that you would like to add?
I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it! The hardcopy version has no steam in it and I have had 10-year-olds (boys and girls) read it and enjoy it (it chronicles 10 years of their lives starting at ages 10 and 13 so young people can relate to it). The eBook version is the steamy version, best left for late teens and adults. I add a lot of adventure so if you like sword fighting, kidnapping, escapes, sea voyages, wagon trains, and starting over, this book is for you.

I want to thank Barbara T. Cerny for allowing me to promote her book on my blog. I hope this post has inspired you to go out and read Of Angels and Orphans!

Leave a Reply

