Book Tour: Interview for A Grimm Legacy by Janna Jennings

18051387

 

Book: A Grimm Legacy
Author: Janna Jennings
Genre:
Young Adult/Fantasy
Format: Paperback or ebook – also available on NetGalley

Summary:

Enchanted castles and charming princes thought to exist only in stories come to life in this classically twisted fairy  tale that combines the timeless quality of generations old folktales with the challenges of the modern world.
 
The woods of Elorium appear ordinary to Andi Grace, until birds start talking and elves answer doors. Along with three others, Andi has been whisked out of her world and finds herself the reluctant guest of the perplexing millionaire, Mr. Jackson—a stranger willing to help get them home, but who’s keeping secrets of his own.
 
Discovering unexpected family connections to this fairy tale land, the group must rely on each other as they dodge evil fairies and battle giants, intent on keeping them in Elorium.
 
Faced with characters short on whimsy and bent towards treachery, Andi, Quinn, Fredrick and Dylan are forced into fairy tale roles to find the way home. But in Elorium, happily ever after is never guaranteed.

Interview Q & A

The best thing about writing this book?
Picking just one is difficult. I would have to say the feeling of accomplishment of seeing such an enormous project through from beginning to end, then holding the paperback in my hands, flipping it open and seeing very familiar words jump off the page. It’s a little surreal that something swirling around my brain and evolving on my laptop screen for so long is now real and tangible. And I’m so happy with the results. It’s the book I set out to write, the best possible version of it.

 

Where did you get your idea for this story?
I’d like to say I was hit with great inspiration, made an amazing outline and wrote like mad for six months until—voila, the finished product appeared, but in reality it was a lot messier than that. I knew I wanted to write, I just didn’t know what. So I took a suggestion and started with what I knew. I wrote three brief sketches of things I had quite a bit of experience with—hot-air ballooning, sailing, and rock climbing—these later turned into chapters 2, 3 and 4 of A GRIMM LEGACY. I liked what I had written and wanted to keep going, but my sketches weren’t connected in any way. I turned to the old Grimm Brother’s tales for a hook, that connecting piece, and after a month of long hot showers (the best thinking spot) I had a plot outline that’s not too far off from what got published. I’d like to say my first sketches came out unscathed, but very little of the originals remain. What got cut and changed was better for the book overall, and they had served their purpose. They got me started.

 

What would you tell aspiring writers out there?
I used to wonder, when I very first started putting words to paper almost two years ago, if writing was something of an inherent gift that you simply had to hone? Or was writing something anyone could do with enough drive and determination? I haven’t reached a firm conclusion yet, but as of right now I’d say it’s about 33% natural gift, 66% resolve and grit and a separate 100% of willingness to study, take advice, and apply what you learn. I think the percentages vary from person to person, but as long as you come up with 100% of something, you’ll get there eventually.

 Write for yourself. I’m not the first one to say it, and I won’t be the last, but if you’re not passionate about your project, no one else will be. I wrote GRIMM, and I wrote it the way I wanted to, not because it was what was popular, or I thought it would sell well (although here’s hoping!), but it was the story I wanted tell. There are those that suggest I choose stories from the original Grimm stories because they would be the popular choice for the general public. Not so. You can’t please everyone, so you might as well please yourself. Grimm is my personality on a page. Others will love or hate your writing, but make it your own.

 

What is your favorite book?
I know it’s a favorite of so many people, but I love the Narnia books, they embody so much of what great literature can be. C.S. Lewis was a brilliant and fascinating man, and if you haven’t read any of his other, less sung works, give them a try. You’ll be pleasantly surprised.

 

Coffee, Tea, or Hot Chocolate?
An easy question! Tea. Chai tea. I drink at least two cups a day when the weather is cold, and I can’t sit down to write without a fresh cup.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

