Reason to My Reading

I’ve been doing my Sunday Recap for the past few weeks, and you may be wondering how I manage the order in which I read. Because if you look at the books I receive and currently reading, they might not match up to a certain pattern. Here’s how I do it.

Rule 1: First and most important rule: I read in the order in which I receive the book. I know what you’re saying. You’re saying, “Well, that’s not true. You just received a book last week and you are starting that before other ones.” To which I would answer, continue reading below.

Rule 2: I have three different categories to reading – physical books, Kindle books, and other eletronic formats that I read on my tablet (such as Epub or PDF.) The order in which I receive the book is then applied to this rule. For example, let’s say I get 5 kindle books (K1, K2, K3, K4, and K5), 1 physical book (P1), and 2 other electronic books (E1 and E2) one week.  The next week I get 2 Kindle books (K6 and K7), 2 physical books (P2, P3), and 3 electronic books (E3, E4, and E5). I put them in order in which I receive them:
Kindle books – I would read: K1, K2, K3, K4, K5, K6, and then K7
Physical books – I would read: P1, P2, and then P3
Electronic books – I would read: E1, E2, E3, E4, and then E5
Sounds simple….let’s move to rule 3.

Rule 3: I read Kindle books before work/lunch hours at work. It’s portable and easy to handle. In the evening and during the weekend, I read physical books and other electronic format books – usually alternating between the two. This is where some books are read faster than other – which can make the order seem weird to those outside my crazy method. I might be able to read 2 Kindles in week and 1 physical or 1 electronic format book. [I tend to have more Kindle books, so this tends to work out just fine.] Hence, my Kindle list goes faster than the other two, but they are still read within the order in which I received them. Are you still with me? Is this making any sense to you at all? Yes, well, get ready for rule 4!

Rule 4:  Exceptions to the rules! Yep, it happens. Sometimes I win special books that must be read with a certain time frame – such as early reviewers on Library Thing. In this case, I would squeeze this book ahead of the others once I get it. This doesn’t happen too often, so it’s not much of a problem.

And, that’s how I determine the order in which I read my books! I hope it wasn’t too complicated to follow, but I thought you might be interested in understanding my book lineup!

 

Leave a Reply

