Childhood Reading Memories

When I was growing up, our school promoted reading through different means – book sales, a random reading period, etc. Unlike other girls who read The Babysitters Club, my class and I preferred Goosebumps by R. L. Stine. We would trade books like old baseball cards. It was a good time! Now being the old woman that I am – okay, I’m really not that old – I admit that I still have my whole series still displayed on one of my bookcases. I cannot bring myself to part with them. Besides, I might need them to fill up my whole room library (like in Beauty and the Beast) one day.

beauty-and-the-beast-library
Disney’s Beauty and the Beast library

With this being said, I wanted to share with you my top two favorite Goosebumps books:

a night in terror towerSue and her Brother, Eddie, are visiting London when they run into a little problem. They can’t find their tour group. Still, there’s no reason to panic. No way their tour guide would just leave them. All alone. In a gloomy old prison tower.
No way they’d get locked inside. After dark. With those eerie sounds. And a strange dark figure who wants them…dead

A Night in Terror Tower was about a brother and sister who went to London with their parents, only to get trapped in the Tower while touring. They later discovered that their parents were missing, and they developed a slight memory problem. First of all, I liked this one because it took place in England – one of my most favoritest countries 🙂 It had castles and even time travel – a definite A+ in my book reading.

the scarecrow walks at midnight

Jodie loves visiting her grandparents’ farm. Okay, so it’s not the most exciting place in the world. Still, Grandpa tells great scary stories. And Grandma’s chocolate chip pancakes are the best.
But this summer the farm has really changed. The cornfields are sparse. Grandma and Grandpa seem worn out. And the single scarecrow has been replaced by twelve evil-looking ones.
Then one night Jodie sees something really odd. The scarecrows seem to be moving. Twitching on their stakes. Coming alive…

The Scarecrow Walks at Midnight was another favorite for me. There’s nothing like going in the middle of nowhere on a farm with a creepy scarecrow (among other things.) Those rows of cornstalks and long distances between neighbors always struck me as a great setting for something spooky to happen. Luckily my grandparents didn’t have a farm, so I could read this book without too many nightmares.

One other book that I really enjoyed from R. L. Stine that was not part of the Goosebumps series was The Beast.

the beast

I mean, The Beast was one awesome ride! My cousin Ashley and I had never been on anything like it. And then we heard about the ghost that was supposed to ride it at night after the park closed. A ghost on a roller coaster? Yeah, sure. I didn’t believe it, of course.
Then one night after the park closed, we found ourselves on The Beast. Was I shocked when it started to move! But that was just the beginning. Because, you see, we weren’t alone…and the guy with us wasn’t exactly human!

Who wouldn’t think staying after closing in an amusement park would be cool? Well, if you really think about it, it could be a little eerie – especially if the park is known to be haunted. When reading this book, I felt that I was transported to this amusement park and all its strange happenings.

So what made R. L. Stine great for me as a kid? Well, paranormal and spooky things interested me then and continues to do so now. His books were a great fast read for me. As I got older, I could read them within 2 hours! The chapters always stopped with something scary happening:

“No way!” I cried. “There’s no ghost–”
But at that moment I felt icy fingers close around the back of my neck.
(The Beast, ending of chapter 2)

Even my mom read them before bed. I had to steal them back from her!

Although I’ve gotten older and moved on to more books that relate to my age, I still reminisce about the good reading days growing up with Goosebumps.


What books did you enjoy growing up?

 

Leave a Reply

