Review for Coralina by Anita Valle

 

 Coralina

 

My Rating: 4/5

Author:  Anita Valle
Title:  Coralina: The Nine Princesses Novellas (Volume 2)

Genre:  Fairytale

Background:

Amazon Description:
Coralina Corissa, known as “Coco” to her eight sisters, is the prettiest princess of a hundred kingdoms. And she knows it. Her beauty has always given her anything she wanted… and any man she wanted.

Runa Realm is facing a new threat. Strange bandits, disguised as nobles, are attacking beautiful women to steal their hair. Coralina isn’t concerned. Until Prince Luxley, her favorite (but not only) lover, gets clobbered by a peasant called Gord, who mistakenly assumed the prince was a bandit.

Outraged, Coralina plans to punish the peasant by deliberately breaking his heart. But Gord is nearly blind. For the first time ever, Coralina must rely on more than her looks to ensnare a man. But the harder she flirts, the more Gord seems to hate her. And the more her own heart (and hair) becomes endangered.

The Nine Princesses Novellas is a series that chronicles the adventures of an unconventional family of princesses, the struggles they face in a kingdom often hostile to their humble origins, and the day-to-day dramas of nine young women whose personalities often clash like swords. Fans of Gale Carson Levine and Shannon Hale would enjoy this young-adult series. Recommended for ages 12 and up.

Opinions:

Coralina is the second volume of The Nine Princesses Novellas. Nine girls were adopted by a king and queen—each from a different kingdom. [And, each one gets their own novella.] When the king and queen died, the princesses each took on a role to help run the castle and kingdom. This book is about Coralina the “festivities princess.” Coralina is very beautiful and knows it. She doesn’t hesitate to use her looks and charms to win people over, especially men who fall easily for her. However, she meets her match when she tries to pay back Gord for embarrassing her. However, Gord is going blind and cannot see Coralina like everyone else can.  This does not stop her from trying and including Gord in her newest play. However, trouble is also afoot when bandits are abducting women to cut off their hair. Does Coralina fall into the bandits hands? Does she get Gord back? Does she learn a lesson in vanity? Does she learn a lesson in love? Well, that’s where you have to read the story.

Growing up, I loved princess stories and of course wearing pretty dresses. I was a girlie girl, so even though I’m slightly older than the target audience (12+) – I guess the ‘+’ includes me – I still like to read fairytales and princess books. Although the character of Coralina is somewhat predictable, I was surprised at what happened. As with any fairytale, there is a moral of the story. If I was rating the book as a younger version of myself, I would have probably given it 5 stars.

I wouldn’t mind reading more of the princess novellas. This was a pleasant read, and I think a nice book for young girls. If you love princess stories and new fairytales, you might want to give this book a try.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s