Review for Déjà Vu by Ian Hocking

deja vu

My Rating: 4/5

Author: Ian Hocking
Title:
Déjà Vu

Genre: Technothriller
Themes:
Control of self and future/past

Background:
“It is 2023. Scientist David Proctor is running for his life. On his trail is Saskia Brandt, a detective with the European FIB. She has questions. Questions about a bomb that exploded back in 2003. But someone is hunting her too. The clues are in the shattered memories of her previous life.

Déjà Vu takes the reader on a startling journey through a possible future, though digital minds, and through the consequences of the choices we make. It is the debut novel by Ian Hocking.”

This is a fast-pace action book set in the near future of 2023 (with some flashbacks to 2003). It puts me in mind of something like the movie Salt – but without the assassination plotline.

Opinions:

Characters: The book is written in third person and mostly follows Saskia Brandt. Saskia is a strong character and one that I liked. Her life is basically turned upside as she is sent on an assignment to hunt down David. David Proctor, the other character the book follows, is on the run. Both characters have good dimensions in the story. The reader learns about the characters in more depth as the story progresses, including flaws and motives.

Plot: The plot is fast-paced with high-technology for the future. There are twists and turns, and it would be interesting to see what I missed upon rereading it. The story and ending is very detailed in linking everything together. The book ends nicely and leaves the reader wanting to find out what will happen. Without giving any spoilers away, I was shocked by the first chapter. I remember thinking in chapter two, “Okay, so it’s going to be that type of story” (meaning lots of action, mystery, suspense, and a few surprises.) Although the reader may guess the direction of where the story might go, he/she is not really sure of the details and reasons until he/she gets there.

The Bottom Line: Flaws for the novel? Well, considering 2023 is only ten years away, I think the technology was a little too advanced to be realistic, but hey, this is a science fiction novel, right? Also, sometimes the explanations with the technology could be confusing with all the letters/abbreviations/numbers involved. However, it was not very distracting, and I did not dwell too hard on it.

Overall, I liked this book. I saw this book on Amazon for free, and I then won Flashback (2nd book) and The Amber Rooms (3rd book). I’m glad I started it and can’t wait to see what happens in the next one!

 

5 thoughts on “Review for Déjà Vu by Ian Hocking

  1. After checking out a number of the blog articles on your site, I truly appreciate your technique of writing a blog.
    I book marked it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back
    soon. Take a look at my web site too and let me know your opinion.

Leave a Reply

